PCT 2022-04-10


Start mile: 140.2 campsite

End mile: 151 paradise valley cafe

Trail miles: 11

Met: dips

Stephanie

Signal

Huh

Daisies and I think California Poppy
Packages being held for hikers at Paradise Valley Cafe

A driver parked a McLaren prototype sports car at cafe and later gave our waitress a ride in it. After she returned, I joked “Didn’t I see you going down the highway in a million dollar sports car?”. She said she asked her boss if she could take the ride, and he said “Ok, but tell him not to drive too fast”. She said “I did NOT tell the driver not to drive fast!”

McLaren sports car at Paradise Valley Cafe
Huh and Stephanie hitching to Idyllwild

We got a ride to Idyllwild from trail angel “Grumpy”.

https://pctcalsectionb.com has info for hikers.

Stephanie found an Airbnb on South Circle Drive. Stephanie, Huh, Signal and I stayed there.

How I got my trail name Shower Shakedown

Huh, Stephanie and I were talking about base weight. I mentioned I had two mirrors and planned to test them for signalling and get rid of at least one of them. I mentioned a mirror could be used to inspect yourself for ticks, though you can use phone selfie camera instead. Huh said a person could ask another hiker also, and we agreed because I have a phone and an inreach communicator that a mirror is probably unnecessary. They offered to do a shakedown of my pack contents with me later. Then I started to take a shower, and felt a probable tick on my back at my waistline! So I asked Huh to look and confirm, and bring some of my stuff into the bathroom for me to find the tick key. He ended up bringing all my stuff in, and I dumped it on the floor. I found the key and Huh graciously removed the tick. He suggested my trail name could be ”Shower Shakedown”.

Found tick key, yellow thing on zip lock bag
Post tick removal

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started